Rugby matters

OFFICIAL: South Africa are out as Rugby Championship reverts to Tri-Nations for 2020

The Springboks have officially withdrawn from the 2020 Rugby Championship, forcing SANZAAR to change the competition to a three-team Tri-Nations with Australia, New Zealand and Argentina. News broke last night that South Africa were on the verge of announcing their non-participation, and SANZAAR confirmed the reports at midday on Friday. “Naturally, it is extremely disappointing that the Springboks, due to the continued complexities of operating in and around this COVID environment, cannot fully compete in the previously planned six-round Rugby Championship,” CEO Andy Marinos said. “That said, this now presents…

Read More